Valley of Sugar


Today was an awesome day, even with it starting with me turning off my alarm at 6:20 am on a Sunday. This morning I met up with some of the employees at Bike Pedlar, along with others, for a morning at a new trail. The trail is more so a playground, which allowed for some great chances for photos. HOWEVER, my flash is currently not working, so I was extremely unhappy with the results. But overall the morning was successful and I got to meet lots of new people. I call the trail a playground since it is not very long, but instead has many jumps, drops, a wall-ride, and then a horrendous 10 foot gap over a deep hole. I think my life flashed before me just standing at the top, and I was just there for pictures.

How I spend the morning hydrating for the day. I kinda like this flavor.

As you can see, we had the benefit of going to the trail on an extremely humid morning. I do not think it is a good sign for the day when the car is sweating this much, and it took about 30 minutes for my camera to defog.

Adam doing some slight adjustments to his bike before leaving for the trail.

 

One of Ryan’s many bikes. He has so many, I am pretty sure he could spare to give me one of them.

Since the trail is short, and in a way mostly downhill, it was spent mostly  riding down for a quick run and then walking back up to ride the section again. This was taken between runs.

Approaching the 10 foot gap. It is impossible to see the overall gap from this angle. But the logs are where the foundation for the beginning was built on.

If I was not trying to take a picture I think I was lusting over the bikes that everyone was riding. I came back to my car and looked at mine and felt ashamed.

It seemed the day involved lots of this.

Spare bike for one of the guys….must be nice

Adam having a smile on his face for probably the last time that day. I think this was about 20 minutes before his bad crash. But we all needed a reason to call it quits since it was so hot outside and a few of them had to go open up the shop. Just glad he got up with just cuts and bruises. Same for Justin who was a bystander taking pictures also.

Yeah…..Some of the guys there made it look easy. But I have seen 2 to many videos of people crashing on it to ever try and go up high.

Ryan showing everyone why he has some skill on the bike.

Jeff approaching the wall ride. He is one of the guys who helped develop the trail to what it is today.

We ended up having about 10 people show up during the ride in the morning. So the turnout was great!

At this point I am pretty sure Ryan was looking at Adam crashing a few yards in front of him. I did not get to see it, all I heard was the carnage and Ryan stopping to check on them.

About 5 minutes after the crash. Lots of pain in his chest, and I am not sure he was there 100% but thankfully everyone left without anything broken. Nothing a PB & J can’t fix back at the vehicles.

And I guess I should clarify that the day was great mainly because of the morning. Because after returning from the ride I spent the rest of the day helping load up a trailer for when we move Alex tom. Another early morning for me!!

Tell me what you think about this post